Lee Da-yeon’s ‘KLPGA No. 1 Career Grand Slam’ competition

As Lee Da-yeon won her third major championship last week, the Korean Women’s Professional Golf (KLPGA) Tour ‘No. 1 Career Grand Slam’ competition is in full swing. On the KLPGA tour, there is not a single ‘Grand Slammer’ that has won four different major tournaments.

Lee Da-yeon lifted the trophy on the 30th of last month at the Chris F&C KLPGA Championship, her first major tournament of the season held at Lakewood Country Club in Yangju-si, Gyeonggi-do, with a final total of 13 under par 275 strokes. Lee Da-yeon has won three of her major tournaments out of her seven individual career victories. Previously, she won the 2019 Korean Women’s Open and the 2021 Hanwha Classic.

Starting with the KLPGA Championship, which was first opened in 1978, major Korean women’s golf tournaments include the Korea Women’s바카라사이트 Open (1987) hosted by the Korea Golf Association, KB Kookmin Bank Star Tour (2006, current KB Financial Star Championship), and the Hite Jinro Championship. (2009), and the Hanwha Classic (2017), which was promoted to a major competition.

So far, there are six active golfers who have conquered three of these tournaments and left only the fourth puzzle until the Career Grand Slam, Hyo-joo Kim, Ji-ae Shin, In-ji Jeon, Min-ji Park, Ha-na Jang, and Lee Da-yeon.

The players who came closest to achieving the long-awaited career grand slam can be said to be Park Min-ji and Lee Da-yeon. This is because Kim Hyo-joo, Jeon In-ji, and Shin Ji-ae’s main activities are overseas tours, and Jang Ha-na is suffering from a sharp slump recently.

Park Min-ji, who became the first major queen by winning the 2021 Korea Women’s Open, reached the top of three major competitions by winning the KB Financial Star Championship and the Hite Jinro Championship last year. If she wins the Hanwha Classic this year, she could become the protagonist of her first career grand slam on the KLPGA tour.

Lee Da-yeon has an advantage over Park Min-ji as she has chances to win the two major tournaments this season, the KB Financial Star Championship and the Hite Jinro Championship.

Kim Hyo-joo, who led until the 3rd round of last year’s KLPGA Championship but collapsed after hitting 79 on the final day and missed the Grand Slam, is also aiming to win the Hanwha Classic.

‘Major Queen’ In-ji Jeon won her first major title at the Korea Women’s Open in 2013, and then won three major championships, including the 2015 KB Financial Star Championship and the Hite Jinro Championship.

Shin Ji-ae needs to win either the Hite Jinro Championship or the Hanwha Classic, while Jang Ha-na needs to win the Korea Women’s Open or the Hanwha Classic. Lim Hee-jeong and Lee Jeong-eun, who have two major championship titles, can also aim for a record if they achieve multiple wins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *